Understanding the Deeper Meaning of Psalm 23

psalm23

Psalm 23 is a well-known and oft quoted Psalm most often associated with death. However, I personally feel this is a fallacy. Yes, it is a comforting Psalm, so I guess I can see why it’s recited at graveside services. But, its comforting elements shouldn’t be limited to a situation of grief, at least in my opinion. I feel it’s a passage of scripture that is applicable to daily life. To see my point, you have to look at the Psalm broken into small parts. Before we get to that, read the Psalm in its entirety:

Psalm 23:

“The Lord is my Shepherd; I shall not want.

He makes me to lie down in green pastures.

He leads me besides the still waters.

He restores my soul.

He leads me in paths of righteousness for His name’s sake.

Yea though I walk through the valley of shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for thou art with me.

Your rod and your staff they comfort me.

Thou prepares a table before me in the presence of my enemy. You anoint my head it oil, my cup runs over.

Surely goodness and mercy will follow me all the days of my life and I shall dwell in the house of Lord forever.”

Now, here is the breakdown of the passage (in my personal opinion) that leads me to believe this is a passage worth quoting every day, not just in times of sorrow.

“The Lord is my Shepherd; I shall not want”

Application: The Lord takes care of me. All my needs are met. Nothing is forgotten.

“He makes me lie down in green pastures.”

Application: God directs my life. He leads me to the right job, the right project, the right person for my life. He also “makes me lie down” that could speak to the fact that God lets us know when its time to rest. Also note green pastures. Not brown, dead pastures. But, green pastures, the very best in terms of sheep. Providing an abundance of food and an abundance of comfort.

“He leads me beside the still waters.”

Application: The Lord encourages me to rest in him. “Still waters” can mean rest. It could also mean he keeps me safe. Sheep did not do well with fast moving water. They would drown easily if the water was swift. Therefore, when this passage says that the Shepherd leads the “sheep” to still waters, it implies safety and rest.

“He leads me down paths of righteousness for His name’s sake.”

Application: God leads our life to honor Him. He directs us down paths that will honor His Lordship in our life.

“Yea though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil.”

Application: The “valley of the shadow of death” is often just associated with death. This is not entirely accurate. The “shadow of death” or “valley” can be any troubles. It can be financial or health issues. It can be persecution. It can be depression. Any darkness in your life. Anything evil. Also, note I will “fear no evil.” This means that not only will evil not hurt me, but I won’t even fear it.

“Thy rod and they staff they comfort me.”

Application:  A rod and staff are tools used by a shepherd. They are used to protect, and direct sheep. So, you can take from this statement that our shepherd or Lord guides us, protects us. This is why we shouldn’t fear any evil or darkness.

“You prepare a meal before me in the presence of my enemies.”

Application: This particular part of this passage always puzzled me somewhat. After all, why would I want to have a meal in the presence of my enemy? What does this mean? I read an explanation recently; however, that opened my eyes to the passage’s meaning. In Bible times, when this passage would have been written, when you went to stay at someone’s home, they not only fed you and gave you a place to sleep, they also protected you. In other words, while you were in their home, you were protected by them. Their staff or guards were ordered to protect you as they would their employer. So, this passage is actually saying that the Lord protects me so well that I could sit down and eat with my enemy without fear. I need not fear my enemy, even if they are right in front of me, as long as I am in my “hosts” or Lord’s presence.

“Thy anoint my head with oil, my cup runs over.”

Application: This is stating that the Lord provides again. He anoints my head with oil is another custom of the times. Keeping someone’s cup full when they were visiting is another example of the Lord or the “host” providing for their guests.

“Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.”

Application: This is pretty much self-explanatory. When the Lord is your God, you will have his mercy and goodness in every aspect of your life. Then, when you die, you will dwell with him in heaven.

As you can see through this breakdown, the 23 Psalm is a passage of scripture that should be used more than to comfort those who lost a loved one. It is worth quoting daily, in everyday life.

4 thoughts on “Understanding the Deeper Meaning of Psalm 23

Leave a comment